The Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA) is an architectural prize established by Aga Khan IV in 1977. Established in 1977, the Award is given every three years to projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historic preservation and landscape architecture. The Aga Khan Award for Architecture has a prize fund of US$ 1 million. The rigor of its nomination and selection process has made it, in the eyes of many observers, one of the world’s most influential architectural prizes.

The Winners

Marina TabassumBait Ur Rouf Mosque in Dhaka, Bangladesh

Kashef Chowdhury (URBANA) – Friendship Centre in Gaibandha, Bangladesh

Zhang Ke (ZAO/standardarchitecture) – Hutong Children’s Library and Art Centre in Beijing China

Bjarke Ingels Group, Topotek 1, and Superflex – Superkilen in Copenhagen, Denmark

Diba Tensile Architecture / Leila Araghian and Alireza Behzadi – Tabiat Pedestrian Bridge in Tehran, Iran

Zaha Hadid Architects – Issam Fares Institute in Beirut, Lebanon

Leave a Reply